International Affiliations

The ASEAN Association for Clinical Laboatory Sciences (AACLS) was formed as The ASEAN Association of Medical Laboratory Technologists (AAMLT) on April 1985. The signing of the agreement was done at the first ASEAN Conference of Medical Laboratory Technology at the Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur. The change to it's present name was announced at the 11th biennial general meeting on the 23rd May 2006 during the 11th ACMLT in Jakarta. ASEAN Associations below are currently member associations of AACLS.

MIMLS (Malaysia)      - Malaysian Institute of Medical Laboratory Sciences
PATELKI (Indonesia)  - Persatuan Ahli Teknologi Laboratorium Kesehatan Indonesia 
AMTT (Thailand)         - Association of Medical Technologists of Thailand
SAMLS (Singapore)    - Singapore Association of Medical Laboratory Science 
PAMET (Philippines)   - Philippine Association of Medical Technologist Inc. 
BAMLS (Brunei)           - Brunei Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists



Palanee Ammaronnond (AMTT)
1st Vice-President
Atna Permana (PATELKI) 
2nd Vice-President
Surita Mohamad Taib (BAMLS)
Immediate Past President
Eddie Ang (SAMLS)
Shong Yun Shan (BAMLS)
Appointed Secretary
Pitak Santanirand (AMTT)
Luella A Vertucio (PAMET)
Tin Tun (SAMLS)
Ket Vasinth (AMTC)
Somchai Jerdsermanant  (AMTT)
Zainun Zaini (BAMLS)
Badarul Zaman Abdul Aziz (MIMLS)
Faridah Robiah Ismail (MIMLS)
Ronaldo E Puno (PAMET)
Gina A Noble (PAMET)
Ally Kafesa (PATELKI)
Nang Shwe Yin (MMTA)
Maung Maung (MMTA)
Aung Sun Oo  (MMTA)


The Asia Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists (AAMLS) was established on the 14th May 1997. The inauguration took place in the city of Nagoya, Japan during the 46th National Scientific Meeting of the Japanese Association of Medical Technologists (JAMT).

MIMLS played an important role in forming this international organisation.

Some of the member associations had since then, changed their name. The HKMTA is now known as Hong Kong Institute of Medical Laboratory Sciences Ltd (HKIMLS) and the VAMLT was a temporary name until an official name is announced. To date no contact from Vietnam to verify this.

The association representing Medical Lab Practioners of China (Chinese Society of Medical Science???) was admitted as a member in Kuala Lumpur on June 2001 at the 1st Asian Congress of Medical Laboratory Scientists.

Taiwan Association of Medical Technologists (TAMT) later join the association on November 2009 at the 4th Congress in Yokohama, Japan.

Currently AAMLS consists of the following asian associations;

* Not active as a member association







Dr Rachana Santiyanont (AMTT), Immediate Past President
Mr James Chang (TAMT)
Dr. Endang Hoyaranda (PATELKI)
Dr Man-Gil Yang (KAMT)
Dr Leila Florento (PAMET)
Dr Eddie Ang Han San (SAMLS)
Dr Haji Mohamad Haji Kassim (BAMLS)
Mr Romeo Joseph Ignacio (PAMET)
Mr Kwok Chi Lim (HKIMLS) 
Mr Lim Back Seng (MIMLS) 
Dr Palanee Ammaranond (AMTT)
Mr Yoshifumi Miyajima (JAMT) 
Mr Lee Tae Bok (KAMT)
MIMLS was a member of the International Association of Medical Laboratory Technologists (IAMLT) with it's headquarters at Stockholm, Sweden and is now known as the International Federation of Biomedical Laboratory Science (IFBLS) with it's office relocated to Hamilton, Canada.